the history of love - nicole krauss

He was one of my closest friends, with thick glasses, redish hair that he hated, and a voice that cracked when he was emotional.

Once we were sitting silently together. Suddenly one of us began to laugh. It was contagious. there was no reason for our laughter, but we began to giggle and the next thing we were rocking in our seats and howling, howling with laughter, tears streaming down our cheeks. A wet spot bloomed in my cortch and that made us laugh harder, I was banging the table and fighting for air, I thought: maybe this is how I'll go, in a fit of laughter, what could be better, laughing and crying, laughing and singing, laughing so as to forget that I am alone, that it is the end of my life, that death is waiting outside the door for me.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0